Processing – OpenCV

Processing

I was advised by my lecturers to import different contributed libraries into Processing if I were to explore different types of sketches that the programme is capable of. Because I wanted to use the camera as part of my interactive pieces, I imported ‘OpenCV’ as it contained good examples of camera sketches, such as Facial Detection, Live Cam Test and Find Edges.
Open CV is described on the website as: “..an open source computer vision and machine learning software library. OpenCV was built to provide a common infrastructure for computer vision applications and to accelerate the use of machine perception in the commercial products. Being a BSD-licensed product, OpenCV makes it easy for businesses to utilize and modify the code.”– (OpenCV, 2015).

What is good about using contributed libraries is how you can just write a simple code, like “import gab.opencv.*;”  and it works accordingly to the code written, I definitely will use this for my final interactive piece in Weymouth House.

Reference:

http://opencv.org/about.html

Leave a Reply

